6 Reasons Christians Should Laugh More

space4343

Laughter and Christians: two words you don’t normally hear together unless Christians are being laughed at. We are portrayed as stiff, sad, and angry people, who can’t take a joke, or give a good one, but see, I think laughter is actually important for Christians, as weird as that sounds. So, to start us off on the right foot, I would ask you to watch this video by Christian comedian Tim Hawkins, and then we’ll begin with the 6 Reasons Laughter is Important for Christians.

1. Laughter is Biblical

Yes, you heard that right! In the Bible, laughter and joy are often promised, as seen in these verses:

Luke 6:21 Blessed are ye that hunger now: for ye shall be filled. Blessed are ye that weep now: for ye shall laugh.

Psalm 126:2-3 Then our mouths were filled with laughter and our tongues with joyful songs. Then the nations said, “The LORD has done spectacular things for them.” The LORD has done spectacular things for us. We are overjoyed.

There is a promise that even though there are times of extreme pain and sadness, God has promised us laughter. The Bible also talks about how there is a time for everything, and with that their is joy and laughter. Being a Christian is not about being somber all the time! God has also given us joy!

Ecclesiastes 3:2-4 A time to be born and a time to die. A time to plant and a time to harvest. A time to kill and a time to heal. A time to tear down and a time to build up. A time to cry and a time to laugh. A time to grieve and a time to dance.

Romans 12:15 Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.

I also believe we laugh because we are a reflection of God. Since God made us in His image, what does that say about him? I believe it says that God probably laughs the best, and that He has a sense of humor.

2. We CAN Laugh!

This sort of ties into the point above.One of my favorite verses in the Bible has to do with being a Godly woman, and it goes like this: “She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future.” (Proverbs 31:25) She laughs, and what this says to me is that even with the craziness of the world, God has promised us a future, and He knows how it will all end. That way, we do not have to worry like others do. We can experience full joy and laugh in the face of troubles and trials the world throws at us.

3. Laughter Keeps Us Sane

I cannot tell you how sad it would be if no one laughed! We would all be depressed, crazy people, in my honest opinion. Whenever I am stressed from the pile of homework sitting in front of me, or sad because of life circumstances, I find comfort in God’s word, but also through laughter. Sometimes, I just need to hear a funny joke or read an outrageous story from the Bible (Oh, yes, there are stories that will make you laugh!) Laughter helps us cope, in some strange way that I can’t profoundly explain.

4. Humor Connects Us

24642_728412150517987_2127906905_n

Think for a second about your closest friend(s), maybe your husband/wife, a parent, a best friend, and think about what separates them from some of your other friends or your acquaintances. Some things that stand are probably their willingness to listen, or the great advice they give you, maybe it’s something as simple as they like to do the same stuff as you! For myself, I’ve come to find out that what really connects me to my closest friends are that they have the same type of humor as me. Some of my fondest memories are of my friends and I laughing together, and creating inside jokes together. See, humor has a way of connecting us to others, and as Christians it is especially important to create bonds with people, inside the church and out. If you can find something to laugh about together, chances are you will feel more at ease with the other person. Which brings me to my next point…

5. Laughter Reaches This Generation

One thing I can remember when I was younger was that I dreaded going to regular service rather than the kid’s service. I thought regular service was boring, somber, and it didn’t keep my attention compared to kid’s church. At kid’s church, they played games, taught the Bible in an engaging way, and most importantly, made me laugh! Even now, as a young adult, I tend to lean towards churches with Pastor’s who value the important of laughter, and use it to their advantage. You can engage an audience by reeling them in with a joke or a funny video, and then use it to make an important point. This is especially important because today’s generation thrives on humor, with everything from viral videos to puns to memes, and to reach the lost you have to go where they are. This doesn’t mean we should compromise our moral obligation and laugh at the crude humor the world laughs at sometimes but we should be aware of what reaches people. Humor can be a powerful tool for this generation!

6. Laughter is FUN!

Let’s just face it, laughter makes us feel good. As Christians, we don’t have to spend out time being sad, let’s rejoice that God has given us joy and he wants us to show it! So go out and make somebody laugh today, or find something to laugh at yourself. As Shia Labeouf says, “JUST DO IT!”

Leave a Reply

